Art: Why Bother?

I’m not just saying drawing, I’m saying all the art forms.  Music, dance, poetry, acting, anything creative.

Why bother making or consuming art?

That’s a question I had to ask myself when I decided to pursue a career in the arts.  I always wanted to conquer the world, or at least change it, so I thought about being an engineer, a soldier, an architect, or a teacher.  Maybe even a politician.

Instead, I’m an arts student who wants to draw comics and write novels.

It’s a question I had to ask myself when I started this blog.  There are enough distracting things online that pull people’s focus away from their own lives; why add to it?

Why?

Part of it is probably inertia.  I can’t remember a time when I wasn’t drawing or telling stories.  But the real reason is different.  No, art doesn’t feed people.  It doesn’t cure disease or end war (would that it could).

The thing art does, the most important thing it does, is touch people’s minds and hearts.  Art reminds us of all the joys and sorrows of life.  It changes perceptions.  Sometimes, it gives people enough hope to keep living.

L. Ron Hubbard’s assertion that the purpose of art is communication was right.  Art is our way of telling each other that we are not alone.

That’s important.  I won’t pretend it’s the most important thing, because it’s not, but it matters, and bit by bit, it really can change the world.

That’s why, in between work, and school, and Christmas shopping, and deciding whether or not to get a social life (does it need to be fed often?  Will I have to walk it every day?), and figuring out scheduling and housing for my university transfer, I’m making art.  I’m writing a blog, and outlining a story for the Illustrators of the Future, and always, always drawing.

Maybe it won’t change the world much, but it will change it some, and that has value.

Leave a Reply

