A Strange Occurrence

Unfortunately, the strange occurrence was not the death of Severus Snape actor Alan Rickman.  People die with depressing regularity.  I wish Mr. Rickman hadn’t died, and hope his family and friends are okay after his loss, but that isn’t what I’m talking about.  (Sorry, Mr. Rickman).

The strange occurrence is difficulty with schoolwork.

My figure drawing assignment was actually difficult–difficult to understand and complete, not merely difficult to complete without getting bored dizzy by all the little details.

I don’t think that’s happened to me in a long time.  Not with an art assignment, anyways.

I’ve realized this week that perhaps for the first time in my life, I am as close to average as someone who insists on being called Dragon can be.  I’m attending a university full of people just as smart as me, most of whom share my same religious values, and who all have plans to change the world in one way or another.

It’s rather refreshing.  Complete strangers get as excited about Spiderman as I do, or about art, or storytelling themes, and I can have in-depth conversations with them on the shuttle from the dorms.  Everyone else seems to play some form of musical instrument, too.  I’m not the one getting glared at by my classmates when I complete a test quickly.  No one’s asking the professor for extra time on an assignment.  Well, that last bit didn’t really happen in my community college that often either.  Still.

It is really weird.

I’m still trying to work out how the making-friends thing works, but otherwise I feel like pretty much any student.  Not like I’m being ignored.  This university does a lot to reach out to and assist its students, especially its new ones.  But like I belong.

I could get used to it.  But I won’t.

Having achieved averageness, I am going to enjoy it while it’s here, and work to get out of it as quickly as possible.  I’ve got a long weekend ahead of me just begging to be used for figuring out my problematic assignments.

Being average doesn’t fit into my plans to upend the storytelling world, you see.

One thought on “A Strange Occurrence

Leave a Reply

