Excuses

Yes, I missed Tuesday’s scheduled post.  And excuses won’t fix it.

Instead, let me tell you about something I’m currently working on.

My university has a talent awards shindig happening soon, in which various forms of art students send in their portfolios in hopes that the university will deem their abilities worthy of some generous assistance and pay their tuition for a year.  In my case, winning will also make me officially part of the school’s illustration program.

I’ve got a decent portfolio, which demonstrates my bizarre imagination, but it doesn’t have nearly enough figure drawings, so guess what I’m doing this coming week?  All week?

Drawing people.  Which generally requires being around people, since the illustration portfolio needs at least a few life drawings.

I’ve got a couple in the works already, from wandering around campus, so hopefully I’ll get the rest finished by the deadline.  If I’m really lucky, I’ll have figured out how to manipulate Paint better by then so I can throw in a digital drawing.  I might even do a self-portrait.  It’s been a while since I’ve stared intently at my own face.

So, if I’m a tad quiet on the blog next week, I have a very good excuse.  Which doesn’t make up for missing a post, sorry, but I’ll try to keep you all up to date on how it’s going.

One thought on “Excuses

Leave a Reply

