Bad Days

We all get them.  Days when we just want to tell the whole universe “nope” and make it all stop for a few minutes.  Or maybe that’s just me.

Whatever your experience of a bad day is, we all get them, and we all have different methods for dealing with them.

  Chocolate is one of my personal favorites.  Social interaction with people I know and trust can help occasionally too.

But the one way of fixing a bad day that I’ve always used, and that has always worked for at least a moment, is words.  Specifically, other people’s words.  There are quotations pasted all over my childhood bedroom (unless someone’s been redecorating since I left) from Bruce Lee and JK Rowling and ancient proverbs and my cousin and pretty much anywhere else I could think of.

Maybe I should start doing that in my dorm–I’ve been finding loads more quotes lately.  My roommate will be confused.  We already have a quote wall for the more ridiculous of the things we say–my favorite is “Boys lower GPAs.”

Some of the quotes I use are amusing.  Some are hopeful.  Some are simply promises that someone made that I’ve decided to apply to myself.  Some might not make sense to anyone but me.

They all matter, though, the way any grouping of words with heart and meaning behind them matters when they leave their creator and find homes in the minds of others.  They all have power.

I’ve compiled some of my favorites here, for anyone who needs a laugh or an extra reason to “keep swimming” today.

“I swear by my pretty floral bonnet, I will end you.” (Firefly)

“Stories of imagination tend to upset those without one.”  (Terry Pratchett)

“I ain’t grouchy…I just have a low threshold for stupidity.” (Stormlight Archive)

“In the beginning there was nothing, which exploded.”  (Terry Pratchett)

“I don’t believe there’s an absolute future.  I don’t believe we can’t change anything.  I don’t believe Loki can’t change.  But I do know he won’t change if you stick him in a big box marked “Loki” and nail the lid down.”  (Loki: Agent of Asgard)

“I think it’s impossible to really understand somebody, what they want, what they believe, and not love them the way they love themselves.”  (Ender’s Game)

“It is possible to live with depression without being consumed by it.”  (John Green)

“You ask why I smile, Goodman Mennis?  Well, the Lord Ruler thinks he has claimed laughter and joy for himself.  I’m disinclined to let him do so.  This is one battle that doesn’t take very much effort to fight.” (Mistborn)

“The purpose of a storyteller is not to tell you what to think, but to give you questions to think upon.” (Stormlight Archive)

“Being a hero is way more than facing bad guys, Gwensday…sometimes you gotta face real life.”  (Spider-Gwen)

“Fairy tales are more than true–not because they tell us dragons exist, but because they tell us dragons can be beaten.”  (Neil Gaiman, paraphrasing G.K. Chesterton)

“I will remember those who have been forgotten.”  (Stormlight Archive)

“Doesn’t matter what the press says.  Doesn’t matter what the politicians or the mobs say.  Doesn’t matter if the whole country decides that something wrong is something right.  This nation was founded on one principle above all else:  the requirement that we stand up for what we believe in, no matter the odds or the consequences.  When the mob and the press and the whole world tell you to move, your job is to plant yourself like a tree beside the river of truth, and tell the whole world–‘No, you move.’”  (Captain America)

“…because nerds like us are allowed to be unironically enthusiastic about stuff… Nerds are allowed to love stuff, like jump-up-and-down-in-the-chair-can’t-control-yourself love it.  Hank, when people call people nerds, mostly what they’re saying is ‘you like stuff.’  Which is just not a good insult at all.  Like, ‘you are too enthusiastic about the miracle of human consciousness’.”  (John Green)

 Those are some of my favorites.  What are yours?

Leave a Reply

