Photoshop, “Luck” of the Irish, and Other Adulting Misadventures

Today’s blog comes in many parts.

Part one:  Photoshop

I’m finally developing some semblance of an idea of how Photoshop works, thanks largely to a digital color project in my composition class.  I am supposed to create a poster in the tradition of Andy Warhol.  It’s taking a while, but I am slowly but surely figuring it out.  You can see what it looks like so far above.

That’s giving me ideas and plans for a Photoshop piece to put into my portfolio for my application to my school’s Illustration program.  We’ll see how it goes–hopefully well, since I have to finish the portfolio soon.

Part two:  Luck

Yesterday, as you’re probably aware, was Saint Patrick’s Day.  As a mixed-race-but-mostly-Irish-American, I love this holiday as an opportunity to embrace a part of my heritage.

I’m confused about why folks always say “luck of the Irish,” though.  To me it seems to be more along the lines of “bad luck hard work, and stubbornness issues of the Irish,” but I suppose that takes too long to say.

Anyways, if you aren’t that familiar with Irish culture, here’s a performance by Sinead O’Connor of one of my favorite songs in Gaelic.  I still don’t speak Gaelic, but I want to learn.

Or you can research some of the Irish myths.  My favorite is Balor of the Evil Eye.  He’s like a basilisk but scarier.

Part three:  Adulting

I’m still not very good at it, but it’s coming along.  Getting to set my own schedule feels rather liberating.  So does getting to add my favorite jelly beans into my budget without having to share them with anyone.

Part four:  If I Had A Million Dollars

Hannah Heath tagged me this morning to participate in this writer’s tag (Thanks, Hannah!)  Unfortunately, I have a Photoshop project to finish by Monday, so my response is going to take a few days, but I’m working on it.

Best wishes to you all, see you next week.

One thought on “Photoshop, “Luck” of the Irish, and Other Adulting Misadventures

Leave a Reply

