Time Travel is Complicated

Hey everyone. Me from the past here. Me from the present is currently driving to uni, and asked me to take care of this week’s blog for me.

Her. Whatever. Time travel is complicated.

We see a lot of that complication in Harry Potter and the Cursed Child, which I’ll be reviewing today.

I was simultaneously delighted and terrified to read the play script. Delighted because, well, it’s a new Harry Potter story. Terrified because all is evidently not well if there’s a new story to be told. I’ve spent the eight years since Deathly Hallows came out building up this idyllic version of Harry’s adult life in my mind. This play’s existence shattered it.

A life with no conflict is boring anyway, right?

Once I actually got around to reading the thing, though,I loved it. It’s not all butterflies and rainbows. Wizarding society still has a very tenuous relationship with logic. Slytherins still experience prejudice. Harry tries his best, but doesn’t really know how to be a parent. It’s not the same experience as reading the books, but I never read the Harry Potter books for the prose. I read them for the story.

This story fits perfectly into the world of Harry Potter.

Take the stars of the show: Albus Potter, a Slytherin who can never live up to the expectations of his family, and Scorpius Malfoy, who can never live down the scandals of his. Misfits in every sense of the word, just like Harry, Ron, and Hermione were in their day (though Al doesn’t realize it). Scorpius’s doomed but optimistic efforts at getting into Rose Weasley’s good graces fit right in.

Then there’s the magic. It’s everywhere, from Ron’s joke shop products to duels to, yes, time travel. Rarely explained, constantly practiced.

And secrets. It’s a fine Harry Potter tradition for there to be lots of secrets that few or no people have access to, and yet the kids manage to hear. This play doesn’t disappoint on that front. But I can’t talk about those. Mwahahah.

And, hey, Harry finally yells at Dumbledore for leaving him with the Dursleys. Dumbledore’s portrait, anyway.

A lot of a play rests on the things you don’t see in a script–the actors, director, the special effects. But as far as I could experience it through just the script, it was magnificent. I put it down and immediately wanted to start drawing. This is the kind of story that NEEDS to be turned into a graphic novel at some point.

Please, Jo, let it be a graphic novel.

I’ve been told more than once that I have a “general tendency to like things,” which apparently annoys some of my nearest and dearest to no end. So, probably not everyone will have the same opinion of Cursed Child as I do. But I loved it, and will not poke holes in this balloon.

Leave a Reply

